Enchilada Casserole

We all have those meals that taste like childhood. Or is that just me? Anyways, enchilada casserole has always been my favorite- even before I admitted to loving onions. It is simple to make and I am sure can be prepared ahead of time; although I personally have not attempted to. I hope to someday learn how to make my own tomato sauce and tortillas to take this casserole to the next level. But for now I leave you with my enduring favorite: Enchilada Casserole

Enchilada Casserole

*the casserole actually looks more like lasagna when it is in the dish, I however, do not have great getting-the-food-out-of-the-dish-skills. Alas, here is my best picture.

Ingredients:

  • 2 8-oz cans of tomato sauce
  • 16 oz water
  • 2 medium onions, chopped and divided
  • 2 small hot peppers, chopped (optional)
  • 12 tortillas
  • 1 1/2 lbs. ground beef or turkey
  • 1 lbs. sharp cheddar cheese, shredded and divided into three sections
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp garlic
  • 1 tsp chili powder

What goes down:

  1. Combine tomato sauce, water, 1 onion, hot peppers, salt, garlic, and chili powder in a saucepan. Bring to a simmer.
  2. Preheat over to 400 degrees.
  3. Cook remaining onions and meat until done. Drain.
  4. Divide the meat into 3 approximate portions.
  5. To assemble, cover the bottom of an ungreased pan with a layer of 4 tortillas. Layer with one portion of meat, approximately 1/3 of the sauce mixture, and one portion of cheese. Repeat until all ingredients are added and cheese is on top.
  6. Bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

Source: My Lovely Mother’s Kitchen

Happy Cooking!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

