Blueberry Muffins

Can I be honest with you?

Blueberries kind of freak me out. I love the beautifully deep blue of a blueberry, after all the color is the fruits namesake. But I am not sure if I actually like eating blueberries… biting into a blueberry feels strange to me.

In my attempt to become a blueberry fan and also begin providing my ever patient husband with breakfast (without actually have to wake up early), I chose to begin with muffins. The safe yet classic blueberry choice, indeed.

Blueberry Bunch E

My husband enjoyed these muffins; he took multiple muffins with him to work everyday until we ran out. I, however, am still not sure about blueberries. The muffins were a super quick and easy-to-make breakfast treat. I will most definitely continue making these for my hubs and even for me… to wean myself into the world of blueberries.

Blueberry Muffins E

I mean, can’t you see the moist fluffiness going on in this picture. Mmm, I am determined to be a blueberry lover.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/3 cup vegetable, canola, or corn oil
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup granulated white sugar
  • 1 1/4 baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1-1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries (if using frozen, do not thaw before adding them to the batter)

What goes down:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Position rack to the center of the oven. Line 12 muffin cups with paper liners.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the lightly beaten egg, yogurt, oil, and vanilla.
  3. In another bowl whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  4. Gently stir the blueberried into the dry ingredients.
  5. With a rubber spatula fold the wet ingredients into the dry mixture. Stir only until combined.
  6. Using two spoons or an ice cream scoop, evenly fill the muffin cups with the batter. Place in the oven and bake for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the muffin comes out clean. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool about 10 minutes before removing from the pan (unless you are too excited and must take pictures for your food blog RIGHT when they come out of the oven).

Source: The Joy of Baking

Happy Cooking!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

